Men’s Ashes First Test to be Held at The Gabba

The first test of the Men’s Ashes 2021-2022 is slated to be held at the Brisbane Cricket Ground (popularly referred to as the Gabba) in Woolloongabba in December 2021.

On the 8th of December, the first Men’s Ashes 2021-2022 cricket series will commence and England will attempt to reclaim the Ashes at Brisbane, with the multi-format Women’s Ashes starting over a month later on the 27th of January. 

The first test is slated to take place at the Gabba in Brisbane between the 8th and 12th of December 2021 before transitioning to the Adelaide Oval in Adelaide from the 16th to the 20th of December. Following this, the third and fourth tests will be held at the MCG in Melbourne and the SCG in Sydney respectively before finally concluding in the Optus Stadium in Perth between the 14th and 18th of January 2022. 

With the Men’s Ashes concluding in the Optus Stadium this year, this effectively marks the 2021-2022 Ashes as the first-ever series that has not concluded at the SCG in Sydney since the 1990s .

Starting shortly after is the Women’s Ashes, where the first first test is scheduled to begin on the 27th of January at the Manuka Oval in Canberra before moving to the North Sydney Oval on the 4th of February for the first and second T20s. The third T20 and first ODI will then be hosted at the Adelaide Oval before transferring to the Junction Oval in Melbourne for the second and third ODIs.