First Ashes Test 2021: Event Details to be Announced

first ashes test

The First Test of the 2021-22 Ashes cricket series could be moved from the Gabba to Sydney Cricket Ground, as part of Cricket Australia’s plan to ensure the bigger grounds for the series.

Historically, the Brisbane Cricket Ground has staged 18 out of 19 opening tests for the Ashes series since 1988. The only time it didn’t was during 1982/83 when Bob Willis’ men played the first Test at the WACA Ground in Perth.

The Ashes Series will be a five-match test cricket series between Australia and England. Held every two years, the latest event will be held from 22 November 2021 to 14 January 2022.

Read: The Gabba To Undergo Makeover in Time for First 2021 Ashes Test Hosting

In 2019, the Palaszczuk Government announced that it will allocate $35 million to refurbish the public, corporate and media facilities at the Gabba. The refurbishment was also part of the government’s preparations for the T20 2020 World Cup.

“From a fan and spectator perspective, we understand there is more work to be done to improve The Gabba facilities and that will include utilisation of revenue from any upcoming naming or management rights deal,” said Minister for Sport Mick de Brenni.

The Gabba has 42,000 capacity whilst the Sydney Cricket Ground, located in Moore Park can accommodate a bit more with its 48,000 capacity. Aside from hosting international cricket, SCG is home to top-flight AFL team, the Sydney Swans.

Tower Ad

Update as per 26th March 2021

Cricket Australia, CATO and International Cricket Tours will delay the release of tickets and travel packages for the upcoming Ashes series, given Australia’s current border closures and the level of uncertainty that will continue to exist for a number of months. 

“Of course, these are uncertain times and we’ll be busy preparing our plans to ensure you are protected and safe. All bookings currently come with full financial protection and a money-back guarantee to give you peace of mind,” International Cricket Tours stated.

For further details on the final venue and when tickets will be available, kindly visit Cricket Australia’s website.